Brenda's Busy Little Bees

Desborough Childminder

Thanks for visiting!

I would like to Introduce you to myself, my family, home and Childminding service.


Myself - Brenda, my husband - Paul and our 20 year old son Ollie all live together with 3 cats and our puppy in Desborough. Paul is registered as my assistant and has Paediatric First Aid, Food Hygiene and Basic Childminding course.


We are an outdoor family enjoying gardening, fishing, getting out into the countryside at the weekends and camping holidays. We also enjoy music with Paul 'playing' the guitar. We do have quiet times too honest! Paul and myself have our CRB checks and are non smokers. Ollie has a DBS check and completed a First Aid Course at school. He is currently attend University of Northampton, he is also a non smoker. We work with another assistant on a part-time basis who is just starting out in the world of childcare. She also has a DBS check, Paediatric First Aid and has completed courses on Safe Guarding, Managing Behaviour, Food Hygiene to name but a few. Her training is an on-going process. Paul and Myself are constantly updating our knowledge and training too.


Our home is a semi detached house in Desborough, with a enclosed rear garden that is not overlooked. There is plenty of parking space for dropping off and collecting. 

We have a dining room for meal times as well a craft, table top activities, homework activities and a living room for floor play, relaxing, watching television. Our conservatory is the play room where all the toys are kept within easy reach so the children can help themselves, all small pieces are stored our of reach of the younger children. We have also recently extended the side of our house to include a downstairs toilet and nappy changing area and 'chill out' room for the older children to relax, watch TV and play games without being disturbed by the younger children. During the day this room is also used as a quiet room for feeding and settling babies, and pre-school children to play games away from the toddlers. We also have a wii and playstation with a selection of age appropriate games.


We have a tablet and wi-fi connection to the internet for the older children to be able to research for homework, use of the internet for the children is closely supervised. Research books are also available for homework, and trips to the local library will be used to gain access to particular topic books.


Upstairs we have a bedroom where the children can have a nap during the day if they wish. The children use the downstairs bathroom with is available with supervision as appropriate to age. (In the current COVID times we have restricted childminding to only the downstairs of our home)


We have smoke detectors both up and down stairs, heat detectors, fire blanket and extingusher in the kitchen. We also have smoke detectors in the main downstairs rooms that are attached to our house alarm. Our first aid kit within easy reach and the older children can access it in emergencies.


Our garden has artificial grass and decking areas. We have bird and squirrel feeders to attract wildlife, as well as lots of wildlife friendly plants and bug homes. The children have the opportunity to play outside, supervised with craft, messy activities, physical play, den making etc. as well as quieter activities too. We also have tables for eating outside in the warmer weather. The garden has shaded areas throughout the day for those hot sunny days. 

Myself - Brenda

   I am a qualified NNEB and NVQ Assessor and have worked in the childcare industry for 34 years with a variety of age groups from babies to teenagers


   I have Paediatric First Aid and food hygiene qualifications as well as numerous training courses over the years such as equal opportunities, safe guarding children from harm, behaviour management, dyslexia and EYFS.

We are following the Government Restrictions and are only open for Early Years & Children of Keyworkers 

Monday - Friday 7am - 6pm - hours are flexible

Collections from Havelock Infants & Juniors, Rothwell Nursery, Infants & Juniors, Loatlands Nursery, Sunshine Pre-school